Slated

Hi there, although it’s school time I’m constantly reading a book. It’s not only a hobby, I gotta read to cool me down or to recover from school. I even start my day by reading a book while having breakfast.

The last weeks I read Slated (Gelöscht), the first book of a trilogy (Slated, Fractured, Shattered- Gelöscht, Zersplittert, Bezwungen) from Teri Terry (I’m not really sure if it’s her birth name). She has been through a lot of changes, moved from one place to another, had many different jobs, but always loved writing.

Her first book of the trilogy (I read in german language) doesn’t really belong to one of the thousands moderate books which appear short time after the success of good ‘originals’ like “The Hunger games”, “Divergent” and so on. It features a tolerable style of writing and most important: an own story.

Kyla’s memory has been erased, her personality wiped blank, her memories lost for ever. The British government does this to many teenagers who were criminals, to give them a second chance in a new family. Though she is different. Kyla shouldn’t be able to remember anything. But she can – and she’s beginning to realise that there are a lot of dark secrets locked away in her mind. When a mysterious man from her past comes back into her life, she thinks she’s on her way to find the truth. But the more she learns about her history, the more confusing her future becomes…

funny picture dumps (170)The action plays a little further in the future in a world, in which Britain has serparated itself from the environment. The government fights a constant battle against groups of terrorists.
The plot is coherent, yet not that easy to guess like in many other ‘follower’ books. The themes contained are family problems, loss, romance and action. I really enjoyed it and went on with the second book, which I’d recommend, as well. If you like the sort of hunger games, divergent, destroy me or legend (all fantastic books by the way 😉 ), you also should read this one, too. Should you want to know more, just take a look on Teri’s website: http://teriterry.jimdo.com/ You can read there the opening chapters, for example.

Have fun! 🙂


Leave a comment